Micro 810 Edit Varible from LCD

Alphite

It's my first time programming a PLC, any help would be appreciated.

I'm using a proximity sensor to detect an object, followed by a solenoid to spray the object. There are two timers, one to delay the spray while the piece moves into position (if necessary) and a second that adjusts spray duration.

I'd like the user to be able to adjust the times from the LCD, but it shows "no variables" under the variable screen. I tried making them local and global, no success. I'm not sure what to do.

On a side note, I used the set and reset functions to keep the input "on" while the timers execute. It works, but maybe there's a better way?

Thanks

Solenoid with Timer.png

Hello and Welcome to the Forum!!

I have never used the LCD for user input but have done it with the MicroLogix 1100. The ML1100 is a major PITA to program and even use. So if the 810 is anything like the ML1100 I would say you might want to look at doing it another way.

According to the items I have attached, the LCD on the 810 can be used for user input. Take a look at these items and see if you want to take it on.

As for using the SET and RESET for you outputs that will work. What you are really looking for is a Timer Timing Bit (TT). A bit that stays on as long as the timer is active. In RsLogix 500 or 5000 that is available but is not available in CCW. So I have posted a little program I wrote that will close my Garage Door at 11pm if I forget to close it. I shows another way to create the TT bit. You may find it helpful.

If you have any more questions please post back.

810_LCD Sample.PNG 810_snip.PNG Sample Prog.jpg

Thanks for the help. My main problem with the micro is that the software documentation is not very good. There's a lot of trial and error. Though I'm glad to know I wasn't far off on the ladder logic.