Drawing a PLC diagram

Wooleyb

I am a new student to PLC's how do you draw a diagram showing a PLC circuit using 1 switch with a push button to turn a light on and push the same button to shut the light off using 2 lines with binary outputs

First, I'll be a smarta$$ and answer the question you asked:

With a pencil. A pencil is preferred because if you find you've made a mistake or you discover a better method, the technology exists (eraser) to return to a previous state.

Now a more helpful response:

This question has been posted frequently. Search the archives of theis site using the keyword 'flip flop'.

Now back to the sarcasm. Before you try your hand at PLC programming, how about taking Punctuation 101. Also, the "apostrophe s" construction (as in PLC's) indicates the possessive, not the plural.

Wooleyb didn't like my answer. I received this PM.

I agree you are a smart A$$. You may not like my punctuation but you seem to have a problem spelling. Your advice did not help so dont respond unless you know the correct answer
When I did a search using the keyword 'flip flop', I got 30 hits. Some of them even contained sample code.

Steve

Am I doing it wrong?

I've always started with a pencil and a piece of paper, even 30 years ago in the relay days.

I normally don't fire up cad or write a program until I have a huge stack of paper.

I don't charge by the hour, but by the pound (of paper).

regards.....casey

I dont do as much as most of you guys but I use pencil and paper any time I build or rebuild machinery. I also use pencil and paper when I get into detailed troubleshooting.

As for a drawing, just about any plc manual has basic connection drawings.