Micrologix output always ON

Preeya

Hi everyone,

This is my first time working with Micrologix 1200 PLC. I have my inputs and outputs wired to the PLC & on the process of testing now. One thing I notice is I get 24V on Output 3 even when the output LED for Output 3 is off. I checked the output status from rslogix and its 0. But I continuosly get 24V. i tried to toggle the output & tried force off but still I get 24V.

Not sure why this is happening? Can someone help me? Do I have just one choice - to use some other output?

Thanks
Preeya

Last edited:
Greetings Preeya,

I'll assume (gosh I hate that word) that your MicroLogix has "relay" type contacts ...

based on what you've posted it sounds like a "welded" contact ... this usually occurs when the output load is too heavy for the contact rating ... the resulting "arcing and sparking" acts like an electrical arc welder and burns the contacts together ...

if you have an extra output, move the wires over and readdress the program to match ...

just be sure to check and make sure that the actual field load is within the contact's rating ... if it isn't, then sooner or later you'll just burn up another one ... if the load is too heavy, then look into using an "interposing" relay to handle the extra load ...

even if the load current isn't too high, you can still run into trouble if the load is an "inductive" one ... this type of load can damage contacts (even the solid-state type) from the "inductive kickback" effect ... think about your car's 12 volt battery and the minimum 20,000 volts or so that it takes to make the spark plug fire ... that high voltage comes from the ignition coil - courtesy of the "inductive kickback" effect ... the solution to this problem is usually a "snubber" ... post again if you need more info ...

Last edited: