Factory Talk Centeralised Activation Server

whussain6

Hi people,

I am trying to point my Rockwell clients to central FactoryTalk activation server. But I have never used this before so I don't know how to configure the FT server and how to point to that server for licence. I have one Studio5000 licence which is intended to be used on all three machine with one being server (of course one at a time).

Now the issue is during installation/activation (I cant remember) it prompted to configure/install as a server or standalone, and I think I selected stand alone. but now I want it to be server but don't know how? I inserted installation dvd to see if it will allow me to change but I is not available as already installed. any ides please?

I'm running Activation Manager 3.62.11 and I don't recall it asking about standalone or server. As far as I know, any Manager install is a server.

The question is where you install the license on? You need to make sure you install (host) the license on the machine you intend to be the server. Then on the machines you intend to be clients you need to point them to the server machine by going to

Manage Activation Tab
Find Available activation
Update Activation Search Path
Add the machine name of the server of its IP address

Wherever you install the licenses is the server.
You can have multiple servers, or just one.

As far as I am concerned, any machine that has an actual, installed license, is a server.