AB Firmware Update...

qckrun

My company is looking to do firmware upgrades on some of our AB PLCs. I've been asked to do the update and was wondering how complicated the upgrades are.

Is it as simple as getting the right firmware with the right downloaded version?

I would assume you would back up the code first before updating correct?

I am relatively new to programming so bare with me. A controls tech at heart with a passion for programming.

Are there any sites or books or classes that teach AB newbies the ins and outs of there programming?

Welcome to the Forum!
Updating firmware is not hard to do, but there a few things you have to check first. One important thing to know is if the controller is compatible with the version of firmware you want to use. This is a good place to check.
http://compatibility.rockwellautoma...oad.aspx?famID=2&keyword=Controller&crumb=112

Yes, you most certainly want to back up the existing program first!

As for where to start getting the basics for programming ladder logic, I would highly recommend staring with this series of videos. I will give you a good understanding of what is going on "under the hood".
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zlsJxSK8tPE

If you have access to a PLC at work that you can practice/test on, then create simple problems and then write a program to solve them. One recent thread was someone looking for help with a homework assignment. If you read the OP, and then skip to page 3, you will see some really good advise on how to start with a blank piece of paper, and turn it into a working program. You can see the thread here.
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=101044