Personal Opinion on brands and politics

rsdoran

Lifetime Supporting Member
As I sit in my shop surrounded by GE 90-30, AB SLC, Siemens S5, S7-200, S7-300, Klockner Moeller, Gould Modicon, and more. I have DRIVES both AC?DC from AB/Reliance (all across the spectrum for last 30 years), Eurotherm, Magnetek (now Yaskawa), AC Tech, Telemecanique and more. I have parts (like PB"S and breakers) from Scheider group, Cutler Hammer, AB, GE, Siemens. I must deal with several vision systems. Many components and devices from all over the world.

ALAS I am an end user. I dont get too choose in most cases what devices are used on systems and even though I like certain devices from personal observation of reliability/ease of use in the long run it doesnt matter.

I am a professional, I will learn to work with whatever is out there. I will read German, French, Italian etc al not because I can but because I must. The concept of being a professional is doing what needs to be done to get the job done correctly.

As for the political statement. I do not see what bearing 1914 and 1939 has to do with anything today. Anyone making that statement driving a Japanese car or any car made with Japanese parts? There are no innocents when there is war, and any war that WAS is just that WAS...over ie history..in the past...hindsight etc etc al.

I am proud of the fact that I am an American, but some acts could have been avoided. To this day we are the ONLY country that has used an atomic bomb on another country. War IS WAS and forever will be an atrocity for all people involved.

Note: I am not nor could ever be considered one of the anti-war/draftdodging/flower child/peace protesters that was common in the last 60's. I have done my part.