Off Topic: Electrical

rsdoran

Lifetime Supporting Member
I know there are alot of REAL electricians that participate here.

Is it acceptable to use EMT exposed in a dwelling? Not worried about looks just wondering if by NEC 2002 if its acceptable?

Is metal-clad or armor cable acceptable to be exposed.

According to NEC 210.52(A)(1) Receptacles shall be installed so that no point measured horizontally along the floor line in any wall space is more than 1.8m (6 feet) from a receptacle outlet.

The outer walls and rear wall are all cement. There is a laundry room, bathroom, kitchen, bedroom(s), bath and living room involved...basically a house in itself but its the downstairs (comverted basement) of the 70+ year old house I inherited.

What would you recommend? Dont want to build walls if I can avoid it.

I am no real electrician, but my basement has exposed EMT running down the block walls to outlets. I would expect that is part of the purpose of the existence of EMT

EMT is perfect for long runs, look into BX (armoured flex cable with no outer PVC jacket) for short runs where you have a lot of bends.
There are special boxes available such as cast FS boxes for emt or NPT threaded for L16 style box entry connectors. BX cable requires the use of a plastic sleeve (usually red) to be insterted between the sharp edges of the armour and the wires. BX doesn't look good on long horizontal runs because it droops between mounting straps.

Last edited:
rsdoran:

I personally would prefer the EMT over the others because it's neater looking, and yes it is code..

According to NEC 210.52(A)(1) Receptacles shall be installed so that no point measured horizontally along the floor line in any wall space is more than 1.8m (6 feet) from a receptacle outlet.