PLC and DeviceNet

dimspa

Hi everybody,
I need your opinion.
I am a student and it is time to do my Master Thesis. My target is to learn PLC programming and the Kuka Language.
I asked for doing the Master Thesis on KUKA robot and the only available topic is `Build a Robot (KUKA) - Conveyor System with a PLC Controller and Devicenet`.
My problem is the Devicenet (the robot has only devicenet interface). Many people told me that it is very old and not useful anymore.
Also I am in Europe and they told me that here Profibus is more in use.
On the other hand, the person who offers me this topic told me that the network is not that important and that I don't have to worry about this since my target is PLC and Kuka (and networking is something that you can learn and change anytime).
Is he right? I don't want to learn something which is useless for finding a lob.
I would like to know as many opinions as possible.
Thank you in advance.

Do not know about Kuka but gave away using Device Net years ago PITA!

Devicenet is still actively used in new systems and is very robust when design criteria is followed correctly. Mostly used in Allen Bradley systems but I've also used it with GE plcs.

Profibus is also popular and easy to use, especially in Siemens based systems, just does not have as many "features" in my opinion.

On the other hand, the person who offers me this topic told me that the network is not that important and that I don't have to worry about this since my target is PLC and Kuka (and networking is something that you can learn and change anytime).

So EtherNet-IP has replaced DeviceNet in many applications, and Profinet has replaced Profibus so the fieldbus selection may not be important. Sorry, I can't comment if Kuka supports either of them but I suspect "yes". Check out www.robot-forum.com for information.