Re-hosting RSLogix 500

Braaap498

I wanted to run this past some of the more experienced Rockwell users here. I'm relatively new to Rockwell Automation products.

I have an old PC (Windows XP Professional Version 2002 SP3) with RSLogix 500 (Version 7.10.00 CPR 7) and I am going to re-host the activation to my current PC (Windows 7 Professional SP1). So far I have downloaded two software updates. The first is Version 9.00.00. This I will use to update the software on the XP machine so it will be compatible with Windows 7 when I re-host. The second is Version 9.05.01. This I will use to update the software once the re-host is complete.

My primary questions are:
1. Is it correct I can update older versions without needing to uninstall them first?
2. Once my software is updated on my XP machine how does the re-hosting work?
3. Do the activation and the software move together? If not, what is the best way to remove the software and move it?
4. I have a USB Dongle for the software. Does it contain the activation, eliminating the need to transfer it?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,

Ian Carlson

The license is what gets re-hosted, not the software itself. You should not have to do anything on the XP machine except start the re-host procedure.

On your Windows 7 machine go ahead and install the latest version (v10 I believe is the latest, but 9.05 is ok too) skipping the activation procedure. Without the license it will run in demo mode.

Once you have verified that it runs on your Windows 7 machine then go ahead and start the re-host procedure on the XP machine.

So:

#1 Uninstalling is not necessary. Nor is upgrading. Many programs automatically uninstall old versions in order to install newer versions.
#2 Use FactoryTalk Activation Manager to rehost and move the license
#3 Rehosting is all that is required. You are moving the license not the software