Wiring Best Practrices

DavidWalter84

Hello all I have been working for an integration company for about 5 months now and starting to do some small field jobs on my own.

This week I have a project where I will need to take an analog output of 4-20ma from a power flex 70 drive in one machine and connect it to a 1769-IF4 card on the compact logix in another machine.

These are 2 different machine made by 2 different companies so how would be the best practice to number this wiring and add it to the drawings of each machine.

Would I use the numbering from the source machine where the drives is? I have not went through all the drawings because each machine has a set of drawings 50 pages and above on each so I don't know if using the numbering in the source system will conflict with numbering in the destination system.

Could a unique numbering system be used and would that be the best way to handle it and if so what is a common scheme that is used?

I am using Belden 8761 for the connection which has a paper foil shield and a drain wire so should it be connected on both ends in the application or only at the source component which would be the drive in this case?

I will also post the shielding as a separate topic.

Welcome to the forum David.

I would connect the shield at one end only. It doesn't matter which end.

For wiring I suggest you use a unique numbering system. Choose numbers that are beyond the range of numbers for both machines, for example if the machines have three digit wire numbers, then use a four of five digit number, or use text ID instead of numbers.

You also need to label the cable clearly that the signal comes from another panel. In these situation, I usually label not only the cable, but I also place labels next the conduit entry point on the inside of the panels.