Sending UDP messages to a video player

Brandon_K

Hey guys. This is my first time delving into UDP commands, at least from a PLC standpoint.

My setup is as follows; Productivity 2000 PLC; BrightSign LS422 media player.

The BrightSign is setup to receive UDP messages on port 5000 at it's local IP. I've tested and verified that it is working by using a simple UDP terminal. When I send "UDPTEST" to it, it plays the video file.

What I'm completely lost on at this point is even where to begin on the PLC. I've attached a screenshot of what I'm presented with when I add the "WX" Network Write command. I was hoping it would be as simple as making a string tag with "UDPTEST" in it and specifying an IP and port, but it does not appear to be so. I created a string called "UDPTEST" with the initial value of "UDPTEST" and tried to use it by clicking on the "String" radio box at the bottom of the instruction box. I can put the "UDPTEST" in the "String Tag of this project" box and set it to "number of characters = 7", but it returns an error saying I must also use "String tag of remote project". That box is greyed out and does not allow me to put any value in it.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Screenshot 2016-03-26 13.43.43-crop.jpg

Last edited:
I have found no information about using the Productivity 2000's Ethernet port for UDP messaging. I only see Modbus TCP to other Productivity units or as an Ethernet/IP adapter.

What is your source for using it as UDP?

I have found no information about using the Productivity 2000's Ethernet port for UDP messaging. I only see Modbus TCP to other Productivity units or as an Ethernet/IP adapter.

What is your source for using it as UDP?