Ground short

Jay916

Im dealing wit a 3 phase 480 volt breaker that feeds into a lighting system . From tue breaker im getting a ground short reading. What needs to be done fix s ground short

While this isn't a PLC-directed question, I can chime in here...

you need to find the short, somewhere a wire is going to ground on something. Start breaking the circuit up into sections and test each section to ground. As an electrician, I can only say this is something that needs to be done hands on, unless you have some fancy tools like reflectometers (do those even work on non-structured data cables?) you won't find the source of the short easily.

good luck, and don't turn anything on until you know you have got it for sure!

Ditto on Rob's advice. Buy a good insulation tester (megger) and start taking reading to ground. Depending on the ballasts used you might have completely unwire everything because you can read through the coil of ballast transformer and back to ground through the neutral which is tied to ground at the main service panel. Start by spitting the system in half, and just start unwiring things. I've had this exact problem before. I ended up saving myself a lot of time by going to the lighting contactor and megging out the leads to ground right there. Boom!! Dead short on the brown phase. Then I just unwired all the lights connected to the brown phase until I found the short.

My system was 20 street lights, two legs of 480 v to each ballast. It was a complete pain in the *** and took me all day in the freezing cold. One of the many reasons why I am hoping to move my career into HMI and controls.

Is it 277 volt system with a neutral or 480 volt single phase?

LOTO!!