Real to int in S7-1200

tienvatco

Dear all

I'm a newbie so would you please show me how to convert floating point into interger

I want to convert 12.3456 become 123456. I'm searching and see that ROUND and TRUNC but can not met my requirement

So can you help me please.

BR

Hi,

Under 'Basic Instructions' and then 'Conversion operations' the first operation should be 'CONVERT'.

Drag this into your program and define your floating point on the 'IN', and your integer on the 'OUT'.

You'll have to create a new tag for your integer value if you haven't already, either in a datablock or memory address.

Last edited:
Hi,

Under 'Basic Instructions' and then 'Conversion operations' the first operation should be 'CONVERT'.

Drag this into your program and define your floating point on the 'IN', and your integer on the 'OUT'.

You'll have to create a new tag for your integer value if you haven't already, either in a datablock or memory address.

Did you mean with 'CONVERT' I can convert 12.3456 become 123456

If you simply want to change 12.3456 to become 123456 then use the MATH function of MUL. Put your floating point value tag in IN1, put 10000 in IN2, and the OUT variable will be 123456.

I would put 10000.0 at IN2 and let the conversion happen at the OUT. Or else you end up with 120000

That's a good point. If you drag your REAL tag to IN1, and manually type 10000 in IN2, it'll display 10000.0 at IN2 anyway.

If you simply want to change 12.3456 to become 123456 then use the MATH function of MUL. Put your floating point value tag in IN1, put 10000 in IN2, and the OUT variable will be 123456.

After I read floating point 12.3456, i stored it into MD50 (Double word). I want to convert to 123456 (interger) MW60. if do not use convert. How to convert the data float to interger ?

You cannot store a float into a double word, but I guess that doesn't matter.