PROFINET MRP takes 5 seconds to recover from break

Mark Whitt

Hello fellow Automation folks!

Disclosure: I've made this same post on the Siemens support forum, but so far haven't gotten anywhere. So, I'm hoping that someone here may be able to lend some guidance.👨🏻‍🏫

I'm new to MRP and having some trouble understanding some things about it.

I've read where it should take on the order of 200 milliseconds for an MRP loop to detect a break and re-route messages the other way around the loop. But when I test the setup I have here, it seems to take about 5 seconds for the bus to recover and data to start coming into the PLC again.

I wondering if I have something configured wrong?

Here's a link to a picture of the Topology and the Domain Management views of the configuration that I'm using: ftp://ftp-static.mt.com/pub/Indmkg/Whitt/Temp/MRP.jpg

I'm using an S7-315 2 PN/DP for my tests. I have the MRP loop connected to both Ethernet ports, and am monitoring the program data over the USB MPI link. Programming package is Step 7 V5.5 SP3.

The details of what I'm seeing are:

1. When I break the loop in one direction, the interrupt is almost unnoticeable. However, when I re-connect the break, the devices will drop offline for about 5 seconds. Is this normal?
  2. When I break the loop in the other direction, the devices drop offline for about 5 seconds. When I reconnect the break, the devices drop offline again for another 5 seconds. This one surprised me the most.
  3. When the communications drop out, the SF and BF2 lights will flash on the PLC. When the communications re-establish, the lights go out. This all seems to line up with what I'm seeing happening to the data as the links re-establish.
One last thing - on the domain management view, the form doesn't seem to remember that I've selected "MRP domain" for the Display radio buttons. Could this indicate that I've set something up wrong?