Siemens s7-300

bruno64121

Dear all,

I am a hydraulic engineer (fluid power) and I have basic knowledge in the PLC.

I met a root on a machine:

During a fault diagnosis on a PLC SIEMENS S7-300, it turns out that the reason given by the manufacturer of the machine is that the MMC memory card is damaged and must be replaced by a new and programmed again.

The Stop LED blinks slowly indicates that according to my research on the internet, a reset (reboot) in a well defined procedure siemens.

My questions are:

1) What is the risk of such action: A reset can erase forever the machine operating program?
2) if I remove the card, the PC goes into state RUN, more red led as if it were functional again.
Why this?

3) If I replace the card with a new one, but the same characteristic but blank, this can work?

4) What you think are the causes of failure of the card?

I would add that for several days the PLC was shut down voltages for welding requirements, and the failure occurred when the power is restored to the controller: is that it can influence?

Thank you for your information, and if possible with simple words (y)

bruno

Hello Bruno,

The reset procedure (set RUN/STOP switch to STOP, hold the switch down in the MRES position for 3 seconds until STOP LED stops blinking, then release, then MRES for a very short time, then release) will copy the contents of the MMC into the memory of the CPU, if the contents of the MMC are ok. If this doesn't work, try again, because it can be difficult to get the "very short time" correct. If that doesn't work, it could be true that the MMC is corrupt, and if a new one is needed, the program must be downloaded with STEP 7 software.

Thank you sigmadelta,

if I understood the procedure given by Siemens (https://support.industry.siemens.co...efault-reset-or-overall-reset)?dti=0&lc=en-WW), allows to recharge (re-download) the program from the MMC to the CPU? if that program is correct/no corrupted of course.