AD DURApulse VFD Opinions?

Bullzi

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi Everyone,
Like the title says I am looking for opinions on the Automation Direct DuraPulse AC Drive. In the past I have only use AB Powerflex drives so I am new to the DURApulse.

This is a standard pump application 40 hp 480VAC motor. I will control it with a PLC via Ethernet or maybe 4-20mA. The customer is kind of cheap so I want to give them a low cost option.

So give me your thoughts. If you have used other drives that are cheaper than AB and are good drives let me know.

Thanks in advance.

We recently hooked up with a supplier of LSIS H100 drives. The prices are so low it's scary but they have a good reputation according to some oil field techs we work with. We have a deal that is better pricing than even A/D could give us.

The parent company is LG electronics.

I have not used the Durapulse.

The AD drive is a brand-labeled Delta drive. Delta makes a lot of the component class (meaning cheap, throw-away) drives on the market that are sold by other companies, as does Teco and LS/LG. Delta drives are not particularly good, but not all that bad either. However almost all drives sold in our very competitive market have to be at least decent, otherwise they wouldn't survive for long. For something like a pump, I would not expect that you would have any troubles.