SLC 500 error

Markn902

Hi I am new to this Allen Bradley system as I just was able to connect to the system a week ago. where I work at doesn't really have any training so after I try to fix the things we have I plan on doing some training on my own. Anyway the last problem I have a good CPU but have an error message that won't go away. The error is

Fault Routine S:29=0
Major Error S:6=194h

" in the REM Run or Test mode the module in Slot 1 has been detected as being inserted under power. This can also mean that the module has reset itself"

I go to clear it and after I clear it goes to remote program mode and when I go to put it run the fault comes back. I tried to replace the slot one card with a known good one but to no avail.

any help would be appreciated thanks :)

Last edited:
Remove all modules and keep only CPU. Create new program and download it to the controller and try again. If the controller is okay in run mode then u have problem in ur module configuration.

Absolutely I always power down when removing any modules. Well I removed the card in slot 1 and downloaded the program to it and with the module removed it still gave me a error message. what do you think? is it a backplane issue?

It does sound like a faulty chassis - but then, there are plenty of others here with more experience that I in the many quirks and nuances of the SLC line - hang about in case one of them has seen this before and knows something I don't!

(do you have a spare chassis lying around you could swap it with for testing purposes?)

Well yeah I do I would have to take it off another bus but it is feasible. use a new chassis with the old cards? yeah I can do that.

hi Mark.

When you remove the module from the chasis( In hardware) . you have to remove the card from IO configuration also. If you dont remove the card from IO configuration and download. It will give you a major fault.