how to introduce a (variable) input parameter into my ladder logic for compare?

karimbahari

Hello there,
I want to switch on a motor based on the output of the following:

If (X LEQ 40 psi) OR (X GEQ 60 psi) Then ...

How/where could I introduce X?
I am Studio 5000.

Thank you,
Karim.

Assuming 'X' is to represent a pressure measurement in an external system then a suitable pressure measurement transducer would be used. This would be connected to an analog input point on your PLC system.

For more detailed answers you need to provide a lot more details of the exact Logix system and the external conditions you wish to monitor.

Hello, Thank you for your response.
I understand your point; but I am new to this field and I was wondering if I can, in the most simple way, introduce an input parameter that can be variable. So, the story is I would like to turn on an oil pump and wait for 3 seconds and then check to see if the oil pressure is within a certain range. If not I turn off the motor that is receiving oil from the pump (and entirely the system should shut off), and set an alarm and wait for supervisor to come and check!
Thank you,
Karim.

We understand conceptually what you want to do. I'm just not sure what your question is.
Do you need to know how to create a tag of a specific data type?
Do you need to know how to scale an input to engineering units?
Do you need to know how to locate the tag for the specific input you want to use?

Generally speaking you will get more direct answers to very direct questions. If you have no idea how to get started at all this forum may not be the most efficient place to find an answer.

Keith

Karim,
In your example X is just a Variable or a Tag. You use the Tag you assigned to your pressure input.

See the attached picture of the logic I wrote. In my example I used PIPE_PRESS as X in your example.

LEQ GEQ SAMPLE.jpg

Thank you very much Bullzi,