MSG Instructions, MicroLogix 1100 to CompactLogix 1769-L32E

kmlongee

Hello All,
I have a total of (8) prox switches that I am monitoring (1 for each machine) with a single MicroLogix 1100 controller.
I have (8) CompactLogix 1769-L32E all with different IP Addresses. Each CompactLogix needs to receive (1) of the (8) prox inputs from the MicroLogix 1100 and I would like to communicate via Ethernet using the MSG instruction. I have little experience with the MSG instruction and would appreciate any input or examples of how to do this. My guess is a MSG read from each CompactLogix and a MSG write from the MicroLogix 1100.

Not overly difficult however you are better off messaging from the CompactLogix rather than from the MicroLogix. Not that either one is difficult however if you message from the MicroLogix to the CompactLogix you have to setup a table in the CompactLogix to link the file types used by the MicroLogix to the tags used in the CompactLogix. When you go the other way you don’t have to setup any tables in either PLC. Here are a couple of manuals that should point you in the right direction.
http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/pm/1756-pm012_-en-p.pdf

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/rm/1763-rm001_-en-p.pdf

I second the motion of doing a READ from each CompactLogix instead of a WRITE from the 1100. I prefer to always do a READ whenever possible so you do not have "magically" changing data when you go online with the written to program.

Welcome to the Forum !

I agree that it is easier to write and edit and test MSG instructions in the CompactLogix than it is in the MicroLogix, if this were my system I would be doing the messaging in the MicroLogix.

First, doing the messaging in the MicroLogix allows for the most efficient transfer of data and for the shortest time between a proximity sensor data change and the arrival of that data in the CompactLogix.