A-B Micro800 High Speed Counter

motosman1

Newbie here, in only my 6th month in PLC's. No previous experience whatsoever. I have been working with ControlLogix, now I have a job using Connected Components Workbench with a Micro820 controller. I need to configure a HSC to monitor a thru-put quantity and send an output signal to a remote multi-function control valve that controls a backwash/rinse of a water softener. I also need the HSC to act as a system totalizer. My problem is finding any literature/instruction, or video, on configuring the HSC. The only thing I have come up with is Allen-Bradley Article #688930 from the A-B Knowledgebase. Frankly, I'm just not able to wrap my mind around this with the A-B article. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
Another note: the HSC will read a pulse generated by a "Hall Effect" flow meter. Having experience with 4-20mA sensors only, I can find no instructions to show the physical wiring of the flow meter to the HSC. I DO NOT have the meter present. It is installed in the field and my panel will be pre-wired to accept the field wiring at a terminal block in the panel. I presume the meter will be a three wire connector but unsure how it is to be wired in. Thanks again.

I have never used the HSC in the Micro line of PLC's but I can help you with the Flow Meter connections:
Normally a Hall Effect Sensor will have 3 wires.
Power + (normally 12-30Vdc)
Signal
Ground

So you will need to provide power from a DC Power Supply. You will connect the signal to the HSC + and the HSC Gnd to the Power Supply Ground.

Next you will need to find out the Meter's K-Factor. That is the number of pulses per unit volume. So it will be expressed as XXX pulses per gallon or liter or ??

Normally you would set the Preset of the HSC to the K-Factor (say 100 for this example). So every time the HSC counts to 100 it will set some kind of Done Bit. You can use that Done Bit to count Gallons or Liters or any units you want.