AD hardware/software opinions

Bering C Sparky

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello guys,
I just posted this over at the Automation Direct Forum but thought I would put it here also to see if I could get some opinions from AD users on this site.....I know there are a few on this site.

I am just getting started with Automation Direct, I came from a Allen Bradley
background and would like to get some AD users opinions on a few things.

I work on a ship and they have started converting our factory in stages, so far they have done stage 1 and they used a DL06 - 205 with a DoMore processor.

Is this the product that most of you who use AD would choose to use for a factory automation platform or would you choose the newer Productivity PAC?

General question I know but just curious as to what those of you familiar with AD will say and why.

Thanks in advance for any input.
BCS

BCS,
I, like you came from AB background. I purchased the new AD P2000 Starter Kit. It is a good kit and the price is great. I have done some programming with it and find the Productivity Software very intuitive to use. The tag based programming is great and if you have used Studio 5000 in AB you will be able to move right to the Productivity with little trouble.

I think that AD has a good product that might give some of the other guys a run for there money. If I were you I would look at the starter kit and maybe re-write some of your DL stuff in the Productivity Suite and see if you like it. I think you will.

I have never used Productivity, but I am a big fan of the Do-more. I have done some very advanced data work with it. I really like the ability to write custom protocols for serial or TCP, as well as custom data blocks and program/tasks.
I found my share of bugs when Do-more was brand new, but Host Engineering bent over backwards to get fixes out.
You can check out forum.hosteng.com for the engineers that build it.

BCS,