FTS HMI how to trigger open and close displays

ok, i'm having trouble trying to figure out how to get my factory talk studio to open and close displays based on plc bits. Example: When a bit goes true (1), close and or open another display. I tried using an Event but it says " the command "abort" is ignored when issued from the development environment or an HMI server". What am I missing? Keep in mind I'm an amateur programmer lol.

Thanks
Thomas

First up, I'm assuming you're using FTView SE, not ME? Your terminology would suggest so, but it never hurts to be sure.

Second, that message says it all. When you're in the development environment (i.e. FTView Studio) testing displays, "abort", "display" and most other commands to do with changing displays are ignored. You'll have to run the full-blown application to see if it works or not.

Third, I don't think it's possible to use events to change displays in FTView SE. If it does work, I'm very interested to learn it - but I spent a long time a while back painstakingly making it work in VBA because as far as I could tell, it wasn't possible in SE. Here's a thread on the subject.

I initially thought to try and type this out, but decided to maybe just capture the screen. A picture is worth a thousand words, so they say. Basically the bit has to set an integer within a file, and that integer file then controls the screen when set to do so within FTV.

FTV HMI.JPG HMI Set.jpg

I initially thought to try and type this out, but decided to maybe just capture the screen. A picture is worth a thousand words, so they say. Basically the bit has to set an integer within a file, and that integer file then controls the screen when set to do so within FTV.

This only applies to FTView ME. The OP hasn't confirmed which version they're using yet - and if they are using ME then the screenshots attached are on the money - but if it's SE, it's a whole different ballgame.