PLC 5 programming help

Quack07

I am in need of some help to perform a simple task in RSlogix5. We are using RSview32 to control heat zones on an extruder barrel.

We have individual on/off toggle buttons so that the operator can turn these zones on/off. These buttons just toggle the bits. 0 puts the zone in OFF mode. 1 puts the zone in AUTO mode.

They would like to add a "shutdown" button and a "heat up" button. The "shutdown" would turn all zones off. The "heat up" would turn all zones on.

How would I program this so that the individual buttons would work as well as the "do-all" buttons.

I am no programmer by any means. Troubleshooting and making simple changes is what I do.

Thanks in advance.

I think a little more info is needed. Are you using a display and/or physical buttons? It is probably easier to make these new functions as an either/or instead of both. The All on or All off probably should take priority and override the individual zone controls.

I think a little more info is needed. Are you using a display and/or physical buttons? It is probably easier to make these new functions as an either/or instead of both. The All on or All off probably should take priority and override the individual zone controls.

Using an Elo touchscreen as the HMI. The RSview project is loaded on the touchscreen. The buttons in the RSview project are used to toggle the on/off bits.

The All on or All off probably should take priority and override the individual zone controls.

I understand that. But how can it be written to where after the "All on" has been pressed, Operator can go back and press the individual "off" for a specific zone. And vice versa, so if "All off" is pressed, operator can go back and press the individual "on" for each zone.