OT how to approach this situation with a dealer.

Edmhydraulics

I have a customer that I have been working extensively with for 4 years. He asked me to quote on some new Hmi's from a well known company. I sold him the first of these Hmi's from this company about a year ago.
I talked to my dealer and asked him to quote me a resale price for the components. My customer then calls the dealer and gets pricing, which is lower than what I quoted him because I didn't actually get resale price and got list. When I quoted I added 12 points.

The dealer then asked me if it was this customer that I quoted, I said yes, and he says that since they have been talking to them for 4 months they will go direct.

I have held this customers hand extensively, introduced him to programming and gave him a lot of free help.

I am kind of choked with my customer and the dealer on this one. The dealer is an easy solution, I just won't buy anything or send him any leads. The customer is another story, he recently bought a new machine he wants to automate and I feel it's going to be a challenge for him.

How would you guys handle this?

Glad to see you are keeping busy.
As for the Supplier, that is greasy but i have been burnt this way before as well. Infact yesterday i was quoting a 1 day quick job, and my 1 supplier sent me a quote and his "deal of the day" price was higher than what his website says the thing is, and so i should have got an even lower price since i buy a bunch through him. had to call him out on it... Luckily i hadnt sent it to the customer yet for approval. As for the customer, i would mention to him that the guy must have screwed up the price quote to you, because it should have been on par, but as for if they buy direct and you dont get to sell parts, that can sometimes mean higher rates... or if you dont make much working for him, he gets pushed off for more important customers...