Factorytalk View ME: Offline HMI tag creation help

LowRange

I'm very new to this side of HMI and when creating HMI tags in the past I have been fortunate enough connect to the controller and browse Online.

I want create some HMI tags and I do not have the ability to connect to the controller. I've read up on the subject of Offline tag browsing by linking to an offline file in Enterprise but I don't believe RSlogix 500 project files are supported.

What have I done:
I've tried to import tags feature but this only brings up the status file. Tried to offline browse but can't offline browse 500 projects.

What I want to do: Create my tags without being connected to the controller. I'm either wanting to browse offline somehow or manually make/enter them, which I do not know how to do either.

What I have: Factorytalk View ME and a 1757 L541 SLC 5/04. No PVP HMI purchased yet. Got some weird Pro Face thing with a dead screen on the line now.

On the subject of manually creating HMI tags, it's not as simple as entering {::[Sortcut_Name]XX:x.x} into the connection tab of an object is it?

The RSLinx Enterprise Offline tag browsing option is only for the Logix 5000 controllers.

If your SLC 500 program has symbols assigned to your addresses then you can import the tags. But, don't bother with the tag import utility. Instead in Studio open Tags editor and look for the row of icons above the tag form. You'll see icons for inserting, deleting and duplicating tags and tag folders. Look at the last icon and you'll see the DB Browser.

Using the DB Browser you can select the tags you want to import and you can filter the list. SO for example you could specify that you want to import all addresses that start with B3.

If you don't have symbols defined then don't bother with importing.

OG

The RSLinx Enterprise Offline tag browsing option is only for the Logix 5000 controllers.