Multiple Machines, One MER

davetad903

Bit of a newbie here since our programmer found new work so here it is.

We have 26 machines that are all identical in nature with 26 separate MER files. Is there a way to have a single file that uses parameter files to load specific tag lists from an IP address?

I have 26 parameter files where #1=Machine1, #2=Mahcine2 and so on and are tied to the IP address for each respectively. I can get GoTo buttons to load however the Tag Values under the 'Connection' tab for the buttons/string inputs are not working.

Any and all help is appreciated.

Can you add a bit more information?
I'm assuming you're using Factory Talk View ME?
Is each machine linked to a separate controller?
What type of controller?

Urgh... wrote a big post, but lost it when trying to submit.... I'll try again...

I don't know of any method to selectively pick from assorted tags from within a FTV element - PB or GOTO etc...

The easiest way to accomplish using one runtime file is likely going to be to add a routine to each controller to move that PLC's appropriate tag into a standard tag set referenced in your HMI file.

A little bit of juggling around within each controller, but it will get the job done.

Good luck!

I will need to give this a try my next work shift. Having to learn a lot with this task now but came along easy until now.

Thanks guys

To make sure I understand, and so It does not drive me crazy all night, Is I need to take tagX for Machine 1, use a MOV, and MOV it so the new tag has the same reference as the parameter?

So for instance, #1=Machine_1 and the new tag will need to have 'Machine_1' in the name correct? If that is the case, is there a way to move the entire tag list without making this reference? So if Machine_1 is tied to IP address XX.XX.XX.XXX the MER knows this and can pull from that list only, granted the right machine/parameter file was selected?

Hoping I make sense

-Regards