MicroLogix 1000 - Half the outputs don't work

Hi all. I am a student and recently bought a used Micrologix 1000 L32BWA PLC with known bad outputs to help further my education. Outputs 6-11 work fine but outputs 0-5 do not. I am ok learning on a plc with only 6 outputs but was wondering how difficult it would be to troubleshoot and repair the faulty outputs. The status lights of the faulty outputs come on but I do not hear the relays for outputs 0-5 "click" when they are turned on, thus no continuity exists between VDC and each of the outputs 0-5. Could this be because of bad relays or does the problem exist somewhere else in the circuit? Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you in advance! Nate

Welcome to the forum!

It's a pure guess on my part, but if 6 sequential outputs are ALL bad, then I'd say it's unlikely to be in the relay itself. More likely to be somewhere further "upstream", and much harder to fix.

That being said, you've got nothing to lose by taking it apart and having a look, seeing if you can spot any obvious burn marks or dirty solder joints.

If you want to expand your skills further, I'd investigate a MicroLogix 1100. You can still use the free software, plus you get ethernet onboard.

If you want to throw a bit (or a lot) of real money at it, get yourself a 1769-L16ER-BB1B and teach yourself RSLogix 5000 (or Logix Designer as it's now called).

Thank you very much for your reply ASF. That is kind of what I was suspecting. I poked around with a voltmeter inside but was unable to conclude anything or see any burn marks. Also thanks for the recommendation for the micrologix 1100, I just may go that route being it is much cheaper than the 1769-L16ER-BB1B and being a student, I do not have the funds. I would love to learn the RSLogix 5000 software however. Once again thank you ASF. Your advice is greatly appreciated.

From your description, I would look at the manual for output fusing.