Pump Validation PLC Advice

EdHubbell

Hey all - I'm new to PLC programming. So new I wrote most of this post using 'PCL' the first time. I *think* using a PLC is the appropriate way to solve the problem we're trying to address, but I'm not certain. I've come up with a set of system components that I think will accomplish what I need them to do. As this is the first time I've ever assembled a PLC system, I'd like to get it right (or close) from the start.

I write code most of the time (.NET, mobile apps, etc), so I'm used to very few limitations and structure when manipulating inputs. PLCs seem very limited (and highly structured) to my eyes. I have a feeling they aren't nearly as limited as I think. I know I'm completely ignorant.

We have some tools that uses pumps to inject a solution into a water line. The pumps on these tools occasionally fail. I want to add a system to these tools so that if the output pressure of the pump goes below what it normally is when running a light will go on. I'd also probably like to monitor the input line pressure as well, just to make sure the suction from the source isn't outside of the normal range.

We need to insure that the pump is actually pumping at the flowrate needed. We'd use a flowmeter, but the flow is on the order of 2 to 20ml per minute. Flowmeters with that level of sensitivity really run into money.

These tools already have a DIN rail in them with a little extra space and a 24V supply. They can have up to 4 pumps per tool.

I'm thinking I'll add a PLC with 8 analog inputs so I can have 2 pressure sensors per pump. The pressure sensors will be 0-60 psig on the pump output side and -14.7 to 30 psig compound on the input side. 24v power, 0-10V output on each. I only have about 6 inches of spare DIN rail space, but I've already got a 24V power supply in there I can tap into. Audible siren too.

0) Best resource for an experienced computer programmer to start learning PLC?