%MX addressing in CoDeSys

Ken Roach

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Hi guys, this should be a very simple question. I'm a CoDeSys novice using version 2.3 with an older Schneider LMC20 motion controller. In CoDeSys you still have the IEC style "%" memory addresses but your actual operands are Tags, many of which are mapped to memory addresses.

The addressing of controller memory based on data type is what's confusing me.

I understand that %MW means a 16-bit internal address word. It's similar to the N7:x address memory in the PLC-5/SLC-500 Allen-Bradley controllers I'm familiar with.

%MW47, for example, represents the 48th 16-bit Word in the internal memory addressing space of the controller. That memory space starts at Word 0.

I also have some tags that are mapped to memory addressed as %MX, which is individual Bits. It looks like the bit numbers range from 0 to 15.

So I assume (there's that word !) that an address like %MX11.5 means that it's bit 05 of Word 11.

So is %MX11.5 part of the same data word as %MW11 ?

I'm trying to figure this out because my HMI treats the CoDeSys controller like a big Modbus holding register, where %MW0 = Modbus Address 40001.

I think the default address numbering is in BYTES, not WORDS. So %MW11 is a word using bytes %MB11 and %MB12.

Therefore, %MX11.5 is bit 5 in byte %MB11 and %MX11.13 would refer to the same bit as %MX12.4

Thanks for the input ! I see that you answered my question about this sort of addressing when I dipped my toe into it a while go, so thanks for re-visiting the topic as it sinks in.

About 2/3 of the tags in this CoDeSys program have associated %MW or %MX memory addresses, which is because the LMC20 reveals its %MWxx memory space to Modbus/TCP and this system depends heavily on an HMI that brokers data between controllers.