QuickDesigner/Quickpanel/Proface communication question(s)

CNorris318

Hello All,

I am just starting to learn how to communicate with HMI's (Total Control Quickpanel/Proface) and some guidance would be very helpful!

So far i've learned that you need Windows XP to be able to connect/communicate with these Interfaces.

So I have a Laptop that is running Windows 7 with Windows XP loaded on a virtual machine from Microsoft. I do not have any drivers installed (Wifi, Ethernet, etc.) on the XP side of things.
Is this something I would need to install for the HMI to Connect/Communicate with the computer?

I am currently using QuickDesigner 3.70 with a QPK2D100L2P, QPJ2D100S2P, and a QPI2D100E2P with the updated version of the HMI-CAB-C49 (USB-GPW-CB03A) cable.

I have installed the drives from the CD it came with to the XP Virtual Machine but i'm not certain I installed the correct ones or they installed correctly.

My main intentions is to be able to test the ports (if possible) and then move to transferring programs, downloading programs etc.

unless it is a quickpanel with a ethernet port, you should just be able to use the usb to serial cable that you purchased to download the program to the panel. You will need to setup the software to use whatever com port the usb cable creates.

I havent used that usb cable, I have always used the older style serial cable.

unless it is a quickpanel with a ethernet port, you should just be able to use the usb to serial cable that you purchased to download the program to the panel. You will need to setup the software to use whatever com port the usb cable creates.

I havent used that usb cable, I have always used the older style serial cable.
Diat150

Understandable. I've seen people say they use com port 3 and or 5 but all that shows up for mine is 1 & 2 but I can't get past it saying I need to make sure everything is connected. What am I missing/doing in-correctly??