Indexing an Array

garlantm

Hello All,

I am fairly new to the controls engineering roll and need help with stepping through an array. I need to compare a 16 bit array one bit at a time in an XOR to make sure our saftey system is communicating with the plc correctly. I want to use the move command to put the bits I need into the XOR with each clock cycle. Then if one of the bits is wrong it can flag for the error on the bit that has changed. How do I go about getting the move command to increment by just one bit in the array each cycle?

Thank you,
Trent

Massively important question: what PLC and software are you using?

You may be able to add 1 to an index each cycle, and then address the bits as arrayname[index]. You would need to make sure "index" never goes outside the array dimensions.

Do you truly have an array or just one 16 bit integer? Are all the bits used for safety? Are all the bits supposed to be zero? Just asking because you might not need to do a XOR. If it happened to be one INT that was supposed to always be zeros, you could just do a GRT than zero and then look at which individual bit is turned on (Safety_INT.0,Safety_INT., etc). If it's truly an array, you will probably have to "step" or index through the array. Your post asks about indexing through one bit so I'm thinking you don't have a true array. A little more info?

Last edited:
sorry guys I was trying to get a picture to help better. I am pulling this info from a safety gateway and I want to throw it onto an hmi after comparing each bit to show why the machine has stopped. It isn't an array it is just an int. I am using RSlogix5000 here is the picture.
photo1.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

sorry guys I was trying to get a picture to help better. I am pulling this info from a safety gateway and I want to throw it onto an hmi after comparing each bit to show why the machine has stopped. It isn't an array it is just an int. I am using RSlogix5000 here is the picture.
photo1.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]