Servo system with Mitsubishi PLC and equipment

doomsword

Hello everybody, I'm new here, both on this forum and world of PLC programming; got a student job last week at company which uses Mitsubishi equipment.
Problem is that I have zero experience with Mitsubishi, and now I think we haven't even scratched the surface at my college with PLCs (we programmed, but it was all simulations in Siemens S7/TIA).

Now I got my first task, I have to program(?) a labeling machine.

So there is a conveyer which drives foil which needs to get labeled. Speed of foil on conveyer is measured using encoder and it's changeable, speed of labeling machine must be synchronized with foil speed to labels can be labeled correctly. There is a marker on a foil which can be detected, it's a signal which triggers servomotor that drives labeling maching to start labeling. There's also a sensor which indicates end of a label (there are two types of labels, long and short, I'm not sure if that means there are just two different label lengths, I don't think so).

Boss told me that main problem is that motor which drives labeling machine needs to react in less than 1ms, I have no idea how to achieve this. (interrupts are probably best stuff, but he says even then communication between PLC, Simple Motion module and servo drive is slower than 1ms).

Equipment they use is:
Servo motor HG-KN73JK 700W
Servo drive MR-JE-70B
PLC FX5U-32MT/ESS
Modul FX5-40SSC-S
Panel GT2103-PMBD

So, I don't ask you to solve me this, just tell me where to look? How to start?
How do I parametrize the Simple Motion module in GX Works3, I think I can write PLC logic, it's nothing complicated for this case. How do I even test if it's faster than 1ms?

I have added .pdf which explain how it should work, it's not in English, but I don't think it will cause problems. Would post pics but they're too large for this forum. :)