Electrical sanity check: nonzero voltages to ground with Red Lion G10

Epy

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi all. I am not an electrical engineer (mechanical actually) but would like to think I have an okay understanding of basic industrial electrical.

My current understanding is that you should never see much more than 0.2V from basically anything to ground. If you do, that indicates current is flowing through ground, and you have a short, right?

Okay, so, based on that premise, I just sent a G10 back to Red Lion for repair and got a new one, but am seeing the same behavior with the new one: basically, all I have to do is touch the cabinet's DC common to the (-) negative terminal on the G10 and I see 3.15V between DC + and ground. I have several other things in the cabinet and none of them caused this. I originally thought I had a short somewhere, checked all wiring, thought the PS or UPS could be bad, switched them out, same thing still happening. I used a different PS altogether and hooked up +/-/GND to the G10 directly (separate from cabinet wiring) and observed the same. As stated before, I am seeing the exact same thing on a brand new one.

I know that a lot of times PSes and whatnot will have a varistor/capacitor/whatever between power and ground for surge/filter purposes, so sometimes you can see a decreasing voltage on a multimeter, but this was staying consistent at 3.15V.

So, am I a retard here? Pretty stumped. Only conclusion I can draw right now is that the circuitry in the G10's power supply causes this.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks all.

It is hard to say what is causing your stray voltage without a wiring diagram of the power coming into the panel and the panel itself. I would first of all see if this voltage is also on the ground of the PLC.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stray_voltage

Here is some information on stray voltages. Is the G10 currently not operating correctly?

Regards,