Info on old Gould PC0085 PLC

clavius

Hi all,
I am doing some work on a piece of old gear that uses a Gould PC0085 PLC with DO1130 and DI1131 I/O modules. A few questions:

I am looking at picking up a few used or NOS I/O modules so that they can keep as spares. There seem to be plenty around on Ebay, etc. This is all working at present though a recent issue that was thought to be a failed output (turned out to be something else) has made the owner aware that a spare or two would not be a terrible idea.

As I am not a PLC pro (I'm a EE, and have worked with some more current PLC's and control systems in general, but am not so smart about this older gen stuff) I could use some advice from someone familiar with this PLC. A couple of questions, please:

1 - If I were to get replacement I/O modules, are these plug-and-play on this PLC? If I swap a module, do I need to register it with the processor, set dip switches, or any such thing for it to work? Any tips from someone who has used these?

2 - Is there any reasonable way to retrieve the program from the processor? From what I gather, this used a plug-in programmer of some sort, that he does not have. Is there any way to talk to this thing, even if it requires resurrecting one of my antique DOS laptops with real RS232 and parallel ports(!). The thought is of course that if we have the program, we can replace the processor with a new (used) one if this dies. Beyond that, he is thinking he would like to replace this control system with a more modern one with a modern PLC (amongst other things), and having the original program as a starting point would help with designing the program for the new system.

Would very much appreciate any guidance. Thanks very much.