Siemens S7-1500 starter kit

Jim G.

I have purchased an S7-1500 starter kit to begin learning programming on a Siemens system. I need to load the TIA portal software on my laptop. This software has a 1 year license. I have no experience with Siemens products. I have heard and read issues with installing the software, that it can mess up other software on your computer. The laptop I am going to use contains RSLogix 5000, Yaskawa, and various Automation Direct packages on it. I don't want to mess any of these up. I have never used any virtual machine software on a computer before. All my software for now is installed on the laptop without the use of a vm. In reading other information, it is said that the vm approach is the best way to have multiple plc software on your computer. I am looking for any recommendations. Thanks

Morning Jim

OS is Wind 7 pro on a Dell Inspiron, and a Lenovo Lap top

I loaded TIA Portal V13 two weeks ago

I have RSLogix - RSEmulate - Factory talk -linx, ABB robotics, EasySoft Pro 6, Idec, National Instruments - LabView - NI Max, And Vijeo Designer loaded , And TIA has had no effect on any of the other programs.

Good Luck

Hey Jim,

Never really had any issues with TIA messing up other software, but it is a beast none the less.

It is the program I mostly use now, I tried installing it on a virtual machine and ran into performance issues. It works, but it works much better on my root machine. If this is for training purposes, I would definitely try to install it on a VM (allocate plenty of working memory), you can always install it on your root machine if it doesn't work well.

Hey Jim,

Never really had any issues with TIA messing up other software, but it is a beast none the less.