Ethernet driver: what am I doing wrong

LowRange

I'm trying to configure an ethernet driver and when I browse sswho nothing shows up on the network. I have very little experience with configuring ethernet drivers and have mostly worked with serial port.

Which driver do I use? I've been using the Ethernet/IP driver, browsing the local subnet and selecting the IP address that matches the address found under Local Area Connection.

Screen caps attached below

IP.png DriverConfig.jpg

try using the "ETHERNET DEVICES" driver instead ... you'll have to manually type in the IP address - but that driver will often work where the ETHERNET/IP driver will not ...

have you tried to "ping" the IP address? ... that's usually the first step to take when setting up something new over Ethernet ...

Last edited:
When I use the Ethernet Devices driver and enter my IPv4 address of 192.168.1.9 and then check rswho the only thing that pops up is "192.168.1.9 RSlix, RSlinx Server" so I assumed that was the incorrect driver. Also, this isn't the 1st time this laptop has connected to this network and I don't know how to ping anything on the network.

first things first ...

what device are you trying to connect to? (example: the Ethernet port on a MicroLogix 1100) ...

what is the IP address of that device? (example: 192.168.1.9) ...

TIP: you're saying "my IP address" - but we're not sure whether you mean the IP address of the device that you're trying to connect TO - or the IP address of the computer that you're trying to connect FROM ... please be more specific ...

what is the IP address of the computer that you're trying to connect FROM? ... (is that the 192.168.1.9 - or something else?) ...

what type of physical connection are you using? ... a "straight-through" Ethernet cable - or a "cross-over" type? ... or do you have a switch/hub/etc. being used in the connection? ...

there's a basic idea of how to "ping" something shown below ...