Advanced Control - Peter Ponders PID

No income tax, no capital gains tax. Freedom!
This is meant for those that have been through college and know how to use Laplace transforms and differential equations.

I am making a series of YouTube videos. They will not be flashy but they will be very informative about closed loop control. The reason why I am making these videos is that I have many decades of experience at supporting customers with many different types of application. I am basically self taught. I had to learn because others wouldn't. I just wanted to sell motion controllers.

I have been very dissatisfied with books written by professors that repeat the same old examples using the same old techniques trying to do almost useless stuff like root locus and other things that prove a system is stable. In real life that isn't good enough. Customers want a system that just isn't stable, they want responses that are perfect. This means that about 90% of a control text book is useless.

The other part about control books that I don't like is that they involve a lot of matrix math. Matrix math is good in some places but it is generally USELESS in a motion controller because a motion controller must be doing motion control not indexing through arrays. The other thing I don't like about matrix math is that the parameters are generally put into the matrix math blender and just become a number in an element or two. This does not lead to understanding of what and how parameters affect the response. I prefer symbolic math. I can see what parameters affect the response and how. It is no wonder people graduate from college knowing only what the definition for P, I and D gains but NOT what they are really doing which is placing closed loop poles.