Best option for PLC training?

tyler000

I currently have an associates in industrial technology which included 3 semesters of PLC programming. Those 3 semesters got me a certificate for PLC programming but honestly was far from enough training to accept a programming job. I've been working as an electrical maintenance man for the last 3 years but would like to focus more on PLCs. What would be my best option moving forward to get the training I need plus look good on paper to a potential employer? I've seen everything from taking some training courses online to getting an engineering degree and i'm not sure what the best option is. Thanks

Your best bet would be to look for a job with a OEM machine builder or integrator. There you can get the experience you are looking for. Working with experienced programmers will show you a great deal. The best training is On The Job Training.

If you can afford to take a class, look-up Ron Beuafort on this site. He runs a "PLC Boot Camp" class in South Carolina that I believe is one week in length. At the end, you'll be tired, but you will know your way around PLC's. Particularly Allen-Bradley.

Buy a cheap Automation Direct (or similar) PLC and train yourself! (if you can't get an entry-level PLC programming job)

Luckily, if you're cool with investing in yourself, you can get a lot of different brand PLCs for cheap nowadays. The platform that matters most (here anyway), AB CompactLogix & ControlLogix, is too expensive to buy and train on. Last I looked the entry level CompactLogix is still over $1,200, and besides the software is too expensive too. Luckily though most PLC packages have very similar instruction sets, so experience elsewhere will translate/transfer.