What's the most annoying PLC problem?

sprucebruce

I'm a PhD student and for my research I need to do some short interviews with people who use PLCs on a daily basis to determine the most common problems, software issues, etc. Any ideas for conferences, trade shows, websites, etc. where I could find some friendly folks willing to complain for 15 minutes about their biggest problems on the job?

If you want a trade show with plenty of PLC users, IMTS in Chicago starts tomorrow. I bet you'd find LOADS of guys willing to complain for 15 minutes if you buy them a beer.

https://www.imts.com/

for other internet forums, you might want to checkout http://www.reddit.com/r/plc or vendor support site forums (https://support.industry.siemens.com/tf/us/en/ is fairly active and global).

Problems:

semi serious answer: the users are typically the biggest problem

really serious answer: software incompatibilities between vendors are a huge issue. IEC 61131-3 exists, but its more of a minimum guideline than a rule. Every vendor has its own unique interpretations, features, and ways of dong things. Every vendor ALSO has a vested interest in lock-in, keeping the data in its format, which often makes export tricky. If you put in a lot of effort to make a good program in one vendor's system, you usually have to start from scratch to make it work on another vendor's system. The only exception is if you start from the beginning with the intention of making portable code, which then becomes very limiting.

I totally agree that the biggest problem is customers. They seldom have any idea what they actually need but are more than willing to load their projects up with ridiculous specifications.

The most annoying problem if you're a service technician is programs written by people with degrees in programming but no idea what so ever about automation.