Reuse of ONS tags in 5000?

kolyur

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
I'm troubleshooting a program in RSLogix 5000. I've located the trouble area but have come across something I don't quite understand. The programmer reused the tag from a ONS in a contact on the next rung. My background is mainly 500 but I don't see the purpose of this. Does 5000 function differently than 500 as far as one shots are concerned? On further inspection I found that this logic exists multiple places in the program so I don't believe it's a mistake. The problem I'm troubleshooting is intermittent so I don't think this is the cause of it, just curious about what's going on here.

ons2.jpg

On the XIC, it's looking at the storage bit of the ONS instruction. If you go into [Help-Instruction Help] there's a flow chart of how ONS storage bit works. Basically it will be set to 1 when the condition preceding it turns true and stay at 1 until the preceding condition turns false again. In other word, the storage bit acts like an OTE -( )- instruction.

I personally won't do logic like that for pure readability reason.

EDIT: Oops, sounds like I may have been incorrect.

EDIT EDIT: I was correct after all. The XIC will represent the output of the ONS. So it will only be on for one scan when the ONS transitions to true. The middle rung will never completely go true since it can only be true for one scan. The Timer enable bit will probably go true for one scan, but will never really time.

Last edited:
Not the worst logic I seen. Right now I'm going through programming done by one of the major US engineering firm... latches everywhere and I also found multiple double OTE plus AOI that ask for latch to turn on, turn off something... I have to go to the bathroom and hit my head against the wall every so often.

I take it that the XIC will be on as long as the rung is true, the status of the ONS would stay high until reset, unless CL runs differently than PLC5 & SLC.