DL205 w/DL240 Stop working plugged in to LAN

rbkief

Hello PLCs.

I need assistant with my current problems with the H2-ECOM100.

Machine configuration: DL205 with DL240 cpu, and H2-ECOM100 plugged into an unmanage switch as well as an HMI (EA7-T10C+ also plugged into the same switch.

The problem I have may be is that it is my first time with working with DL.

The equipment work flawlessly as long as the LAN cable is not plugged into the switch.

But as soon as I plugged the cable into the switch, the H2-ECOM100 appears to freeze up.

Status LED is Solid Green, 100MBit is Green, Active is Solid Green, and the rest are off when LAN is plugged in.

When LAN cable is plugged in, NetEdit detects the H2-ECOM, and other plc on network.

I can ping every address NetEdit scanned but the H2-ECOM for the mchine plc.

FYI, this will be a The 3rd module I have tried and the 3rd is NIB and I have not made any progress.

Any help will appropriated and thank you in advance.

Oh, I didn't mention that this is my first time with DL but I have worked with Allen-Bradley.

Regards

Rey

Last edited:
Have you made a list of the following:
Ethernet (MAC) Address, Module ID, Name, IP Address, Mask Address

I would review the ECOM Network Identifiers in the following manual.
https://www.automationdirect.com/static/manuals/hxecomm/hxecomm.pdf

Hope this helps you out.
Regards,

Hi Garry.

Thank for the reply.

I have check what you have listed and also read the manual and appears to be correct on the ip configurations.

All five devices in the network has 10.27.16.xxx with 255.255.255.0 with ID 1 thru 5.

I am not at work at the moment and I do not have the mac address.

Regards

Rey

Do you have the module in the slot next to the CPU?

If so, that slot is special and will not work with the ECOM100. The ECOM100 needs to go in slots 1 through 7.

Also, have you checked your power budget? You may be over budget, especially if you are using an older non -1 base.