User-Defined Data Type Help Needed

JoseM

Guys, I need some advice. I'm trying to use for the first time "UDT" on a CLX processor. I have this pneumatic valve with an E/P transducer that I'm going to control to modulate water flow going into a holding tank.

I've never done this before and I'm trying to figure out which members I need to add to the "UDT DATA" table. I'm using a 1794-OF4I and when I configured it to the Flex I/O adapter, it shows to have 8 input Bytes and 10 output Bytes.

I’m trying to configure those up into the UDT array. Can you guys offer me some assistance please.

First of all, manuals are your friends:

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/in/1794-in037_-en-p.pdf

Starting at page 3 there is a comprehensive definition of the input and output data.

To setup your UDT you have to decide from what perspective you want to look the data it will represent. I see two possibilities here.
You can create the UDT as the module, basically recreating the tables shown in the manual, or, and that's what I would go for, pick all values that are bound to a channel and create an array of the resulting UDT. The Output word 5 makes that a little tricky, but nothing that a BTD can't handle. Adding comments to the module data helps me a lot identifying what my UDT has to look like. It further helps when you need to change the configuration or troubleshoot the module a year later.

Hope that didn't confused you more then you were before. Look and the manual and see what you can come up with. Maybe someone else here has a perfectly matching UDT, you shouldn't be the first to use this module ;)

I just fiddled around with this for a while, trying to add this module to a 1794-AENTR...
When I configured the module the following module-defined datatypes were created:

Input Data: AB:1794_OF4I:I:0
Output Data: AB:1794_OF4I:O:0
Configuration: AB:1794_OF4I:C:0