Interlocking two Machines with Run signals

MoneyMike1987

First things first, thank you for all of the help.

I have a strong background with PLC's, but mostly Compact Logix and Control Logix platforms.

I used to write programs for an OEM while I was a Controls Engineer at my previous job. I took a promotion that pulled me away from my programming and had me traveling 95% of the year, so I am afraid I am a little rusty since taking this new job, but its slowly coming back.

I am the company Lead Electrician as well as their programmer. Unfortunately, there is many different platforms in the plant. SLC 504/505, Micro Logix 1400's, Control Logix and Compact Logix. Unfortunately, I can't stream line them due to this being a family owned company on a big scale. They are minimalists which limits what I can do.

I advised them that on their new line we need to interlock the equipment to prevent product from piling up at the infeed of the down equipment. I did this in the past for a vision system on an upstream and downstream system, but they were both L73 CL Processors. Forgive me for being so out of the loop, but would messaging suffice?

What are the processors that you need to interlock? If they are Compact or Control Logix I would use Produced/Consumed Tags. That is what I use to exchange info between Logix Processors.

Last edited:
What are the processors that you need to interlock? If they are Compact or Control Logix I would use Produced/Consumed Tags. That is what I use to exchange info between Logix Processors.
He is saying that he hs done it with newer equipment. Emote so I'm guessing he needs to do it with a SLC now. Personally I'd hardwire them incase of a comms glitch. But maybe that's just old school me. Lol. I guess it depends one what you have available to you already, it if there is comms between them but not spare wires then go that route. You also have to see how critical it is. I mean if they aren't currently setup it can't be that critical. Lol