First Time Using 4-20mA/1734-IE4C Module

jfd7851

Hi everyone,
As stated in the title, this is my first time configuring a 4-20mA device and I am using Rockwell's 1734-IE4C module as part of the Point I/O module. The sensor I am connecting has three wire leads. One is red which I am assuming is +, One is black which I am assuming is - and one is green which I'm assuming is ground.

Based off the amount of wires and the picture from the IE4C manual, it seems like I would connect the red + into one of the input channels, black into the common, and the green into the Chassis Ground terminal?

If anyone has any experience wiring 4-20mA and could offer some words of wisdom, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

Thanks. Doesn't the Point IO supply the 24VDC? Right now, I've got the red wire into the Channel 0 "IN" terminal, the black signal wire into the Common (Input 4), and the Ground going into the Chassis Ground (Input 6)

EDIT: I see where I am making a mistake. Channel 1 is for the 24VDC wire(red). Channel 0 is for the black signal wire, and the ground wire goes to chassis ground terminal

Last edited:
The IE4C module does not provide a 24VDC contact on the AENT bus. You can source it from a neighbor module, though.

IE4C contacts are as follows:
0-3: Inputs
4-5: DC common
6-7: Chassis ground

In your present setup, the sensor is not being energized.

Last edited:
Ahhh. Ok. i'm seeing it better now.
+ (red wire) to voltage source (VTM)
- (black wire) to corresponding input (1 in my case)
G (green wire) to ground (terminal 6 in my case)

I can't seem to get the channel to recognize the connection (Channel 1- still flashing red on the 1734-IE4C module. I did some manual measurements with a multimeter and the values seem to be correct. Anyone have any issues in the past getting the IE4C to recognize a connection?

Start by verifying the sensor is supplying a value to the module. See if this measured value is within the module's alarm range settings.