how to use counters to add and subtract

ladder diagram on how to use counters to add and subtract

• explain how to use counters to add and subtract

Votes: 2 50.0%
  • explain how to use counters to add and subtract

Votes: 2 50.0%

• Total voters
Good day all! Im still very new to plc. I just started and having trouble understanding counters. I dont know how to use the counter to add and substract. I have this exersice i must do about people entering a mall with 3 doors and exiting the mall. And at the end if the mall is empty then a green light must go on. Laser sensors at each door. I just know you' ll be able to help me. Thanx in advance!

Sounds like an assignment....Adding and subtracting are not the terms used for counters, you should refer to them as Counter UP or Counter DOWN.

Think how can you count people entering and exiting.. Think about how many counters you need... Once you have that, you are pretty much done.

Put a rough logic out there and I would be able to help you more.

A lot will depend on the PLC you're using. If the function set includes an Up/Down counter, you can make the counter's accumulated value increase when the sensor detects someone entering and make the value decrease when the sensor detects someone exiting.
Or you could use two counters, one for entering, the other for exiting. The difference between the accumulated values represents the number of people inside.
The real trick is to come up with sensors and a traffic control system to unambiguously detect people entering and exiting.

The real trick is to come up with sensors and a traffic control system to unambiguously detect people entering and exiting.

That is invariably the hardest part... there are so many things that can go "wrong" especially with people, on their own, on crutches, in wheelchairs, on mobility scooters, with or without children in tow, with pushchairs, dragging suitcases, to name a few "problem" areas.