Opportunity for AB training. At what level should I start?

TL140

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello guys,

The company I work for had offered me the opportunity to receive Allen Bradley training/certification with McNaughton McKay. Looking at their courses, for the studio 5000 logix designer level 1 (CCP299), all these topics are something I practice on a frequent basis. (I work as an automation tech with no formal training other than two associate degrees in mechatronics, and industrial electronics, and 3 years of experience. I do have certs from Scantime Engineering LTD, but do not receive recognition for these.).
Level 2 (CCP151), most topics I am familiar with. Using compare instructions, counters, data manipulation with the MOV instructions, etc. The only thing on the list that i could use more experience in is filling arrays. I work a lot with barcodes and I know how to use FLL and COP/CPS fairly decently to get the job done. I also know about the perks of writing hex values to registers to turn on multiple outputs and such.

On level 3 (CCP143), project development, I would really like to learn more about these subjects. I know how to use UDTs and organize arrays, but the other subjects I have little knowledge of.

I really want to jump into level 3, but with this being my first formal training, I don't want know what to expect and I don't want to gimp myself going into the class. But on the other hand, I want to advance, grow, learn new skills, and I don't want to waste company resources going to a class that will not fully benefit me.

Given the information that I have, would you guys recommend that I take level 2 or think that with what I listed I am competent enough for level 3?

Also, I am going to the FactoryTalk View ME & PanelView Plus Programming (CCV204). I am REALLY excited about that because I have wanted to get in depth with HMIs for a long time now.