RSLogix5000 structural text correlation with PLC scan

Salman S.

Hi this is my first time posting in this forum, so apologies if it isn't in accordance to forum rules.

Query 1
Does the structural text in RSLogix5000 run within one scan cycle?

Correct me if I am wrong, but from my understanding the PLC goes through scan cycles whereby it reads inputs, runs program and updates outputs. So I'd assume structural text is part of the program. So any rung that already has been cycled through shouldn't be able to affect the program before the structural text finishes.

Query 2
Another confusion I have is regarding the tasks. I know the tasks run in the sequence you schedule it, but can a short task run multiple times before a longer task finishes? So in the attached example can program2 (given its shorter) run multiple times before main program finishes?

I am not very experienced hence my questions might sound trivial, but any help is greatly appreciated.

Capture.PNG

A1: Yes, that's correct.

A2: I'm going to approach this thinking you mean "programs within tasks" instead of "tasks" themselves because of the attached image. Since the programs are both members of the continuous task, they will execute in serial fashion, regardless of time consumed by either.

welcome to the forum ...

Does the structural text in RSLogix5000 run within one scan cycle?

in general terms, yes ...

the PLC goes through scan cycles whereby it reads inputs, runs program and updates outputs.

no - it's not that simple ... your statement is USUALLY correct for MOST PLCs – but it is NOT correct for the ControlLogix/CompactLogix system that you've pictured ... the ControlLogix/CompactLogix systems are ASYNCHRONOUS – which means that the field inputs and the field outputs can be updated at ANY point during the processor's execution of the code/instructions ...