Allen Bradley SLC 5/03 won't power on even there is Power supply.

euracs

Hi I am a beginner in troubleshooting PLC.
My problem encountered from the start when we try to do the backup.
The plc status has a light indicating on Run, Batt, force, DH485, RS232 and the power indicator. When we try to connect the laptop using software SLC 5/00 to RS232 but when we try to configure, it cannot communicate it says failed and we do it several times and still we cannot connect. and we try to pull out the cable from the DH485 because we want to try in different connection to communicate but suddenly the plc's indicators turn off. We check the fuse it still have the continuity and the power supply has a 24 volts dc.

The battery inside is not yet replaced more than 10 years because nobody care that time.

I have a question guys.
1.) Is this a symptoms when battery is defective?
2.) when the battery is defective what happen to the program?
3.) Is there any way how to fix this problem?

Thanks,

Eugene

Last edited:
Its unlikely that a bad battery will cause your problems as the PLC will run just fine without a battery.
Its more likely a bad processor or bad power supply.

See pdf for a troubleshooting guide.

Euracs:
your are trying to use RS232 port, are you sure your usb to serial port converter is the right one, or you are using a real serial port.
Please take into account that if your serial port on your SLC is configured as ascii you will not be able to connect from your pc.

Sorry I did not read the last part of DH485

Last edited:
I had an issue when I plugged in a defective cable into an Omron shoe box model and it shorted out the communication card n the processor. The machine ran but eventually had to change the processor and dump the program in again
Not sure that is your issue but it has happen to me

"The battery has not been replaced in 10 years"

Has the unit been sitting on the shelf for 10 years unplugged?

When was the last time it ran?