A newbie question about EDS, AOP, Profile

unsaint32

I am a automation tech with very limited programming experiences. I am trying to learn about AOP. I have been reading the PDF "EDS AOP Guidelines for Logix Designer" but I am still confused.

1. How is AOP different than "profile" or "EDS" or "EDS AOP"?

2. Is it AOP or EDS that provides all the module-defined data types?

Thank you.

EDS stands for "Electronic Data Sheet." To keep it really simple, the EDS holds the information for the hardware. The EDS generally adds the hardware to your database and allows RSLinx to communicate.

AOP or add-on profile contains hardware addressing information and at times settings for your Ethernet/IP device.

I once installed an Ethernet/IP barcode scanner. The EDS allowed RSLinx to see the device and get some basic information. The AOP set up the addressing and hardware within my program.

You can also set up a generic Ethernet module with cyclic IO to handle Ethernet/IP communications.

EDS stands for "Electronic Data Sheet." To keep it really simple, the EDS holds the information for the hardware. The EDS generally adds the hardware to your database and allows RSLinx to communicate.
So, to get the module-defined data for programming, I would need AOP (not EDS) then.

AOP or add-on profile contains hardware addressing information and at times settings for your Ethernet/IP device.
So, AOP comes with some kind of GUI that lets me type in IP address then?

If you have the AOP, you can actually search and add that module to your hardware configuration the same way as you add a digital input card. You add the module to your communications tree, and yes, you get a popup where you define IP address and other configuration parameters. After you've done that, you'll find a tag in your controller tags list which can be expanded out to show all of the information to and from that device.