Conveyor and metal detector application

ASI

Hello,
I am new to programming and posting. I have built a conveyor belt with an integrated metal detector. When metal is detected, the belt stops, reverses to dump the product off and then runs forward again. If this cycle happens 3 times in less than 60 seconds, I want to go to an alarm state. I have everything figured out except the logic for determining if 3 events happen in <60 secs. I am using a Schneider TM221 PLC and basic ladder logic for the programming. Can anyone help? Thanks.

Hello,
Not familiar with your plc but you could just run a 60 second timer and have a counter for each time the detector goes off or the belt reverses.

Have the timer and counter reset when the 60 seconds is up.

Then you will have a rung of logic that will look something like this:

Timer Timing (or not done)......Counter greater than 2......Output Alarm State.

EDIT...Actually you could leave out the timer timing instuction as it will always be running, since your counter will be reset after the 60 seconds then all you need is the counter greater than 2 and the output for your alarm state on the rung.

BCS

Last edited:
Thank you very much, I will try that. As simple as your solution is, I must have been over thinking it!

Welcome to the forum!

BCS's solution will work in some cases but not all.

Assuming you start your timer when the first metal is detected...
Assume detection at 0 seconds, 55 seconds, 65 seconds.
You won't have an alarm, because the three occurrences were not within the last 60 seconds, and the timer/counter reset at 60 seconds. But, if you get a third pulse at 70 seconds, you now have three pulses within 25 seconds, but your counter will only be at two, so no alarm.

It sounds simple, but it's one of those ones that when you think about it just a little bit more, gets complicated :)

Here's one idea.